3 Chrysalises, Cocoons, and Pupae

Chrysalises, cocoons, and pupae! What are they? How do I take care of them?

Bombyx mori silk moth cocoon and pupa

Bombyx mori; Silk moth
Opened cocoon and pupa

Butterflies and moths go through four stages of life; egg, larva (caterpillar), pupa, and adult.

A butterfly pupa (the stage between the caterpillar and adult) is called either a pupa or a chrysalis. A butterfly doesn’t make a cocoon.

A moth pupa is called a pupa. Some moth caterpillars make cocoons out of silk that comes from their spinnerets. Spinnerets are beneath their heads. Inside the cocoon, the caterpillar changes into a pupa.

Some moth caterpillars will sew a couple of leaves together and pupate into a pupa inside the leaves.

Yet other moth caterpillars will crawl into a mass of leaves on the ground and pupate into a pupa under the leaves.

Other moth caterpillars will work their way into the soil and pupate into a pupa underground.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>